REZ GROUPS

Every Sunday our worship services end with a charge: “Go forth into the world, rejoicing in the power of the Holy Spirit.” During the week, Rez people meet together with intentionality, seeking to put into practice in the world what we experienced in the sanctuary.

Rez Groups are smaller groups for persons who worship with the Church of the Resurrection on Sundays. While each group is unique, all RezGroups have these four practices in common:

  • Breaking Bread Together. Each group shares in table fellowship of some kind, whether snacks, dinner, dessert, drinks. As it was in the early church, eating together is a sign of our unity in Christ despite the many differences between us.
  • Reading the Bible Together. Each group sits at the feet of Jesus, hearing from his Word and considering it holistically together in reflection and discussion.
  • Praying Together. Because God hears and responds when we pray, we come before him with adoration, confession, thanksgiving, and petition. In most cases, groups use liturgy to engage in communal prayer for matters of concern within the group as well as broader concerns of the church and the world.
  • Caring Together. Jesus said that all will know that we are his disciples by our love for one another. RezGroup members are friends in Christ, sharing their needs and concerns, and making every effort to help each other.

JOIN A GROUP

Drew and Rachel Fox Smothermon

Address: 1875 Mintwood Place NW
Washington DC 20009
Day and Time: Tuesday, 7pm – 9pm
Email: ajsmothermon@gmail.com; racheljoyfox1@gmail.com

Kyle Hill

Address: 1010 Half-Street SE,
Washinton, DC 20003
Day and Time: Thursday, 7pm – 9pm
Email: kyle.joshua.hill@gmail.com
Note: Reach out to Kyle for his apartment number.

Brian and Ashley Scholl

Address: 4845 Little Falls Rd,
Arlington, VA 22207
Day and Time: Thursday, 7pm – 9pm
Emails: brianescholl@gmail.com; ashleyscholl5@gmail.com

Evan and Sarah Feinberg

Address: 3207 Cameron Mills Road Alexandria, VA 22302
Day and Time: Monday, 7pm – 9pm
Emails: feinberge@gmail.com; sarah.a.feinberg@gmail.com
Note: Bus stop right in front of their home.

Daniel and Hannah Chasen

Address: 3103 Laurel Ave, Cheverly, MD 20785
Day and Time: Tuesdays, 8pm
Emails: daniel.chasen@gmail.com; hannah.r.ricks@gmail.com

Jim and Betsy Hagan

Address: 2725 39th St NW, Washington, DC 20007
Day and Time: Thursday, 7pm – 9pm
Emails:  hagan.missbetsy@gmail.com; hagan.jim@gmail.com

Sulmane Maigadi and Hannah Powell - FULL

Address: 1930 4th Street NE,
Washington, DC 20002
Day and Time: Thursday, 7pm – 9pm
Email: smaigadi@rezchurch.org; hannah.powell@gmail.com

Grace and Daniel Brunner - FULL

Address: 1212 E St NE Washington DC 20002
Day and Time: Tuesday, 7pm – 9pm
Email: dbrunner1790@gmail.com; gracejohnz@gmail.com

Katie Archer - FULL

Addresses: Alternating between 1019 15th Street Southeast, Washington, DC 20003; 1950 U Place SE, Washington, DC 20020
Day and Time: Tuesday, 7:30pm – 9pm
Email: katieharcher@gmail.com

Bill and Lou Bayly Mahr

Address: 1301 South Carolina Ave SE #4, Washington DC, 20003
Note: Starting in September 2021