Rez Team

Clergy and Staff

 Dan Claire, Rector

Originally from Florida, Dan Claire came to Washington in 1999 to help establish a seminary in the area. Dan went to college and medical school at the University of Florida, and then went on to do graduate work in biblical studies at Reformed Theological Seminary (Orlando) and the Catholic University of America. The Church of the Resurrection began in 2003 in Dan’s home, where he and his wife Elise live with their five children. Email Dan.


photo 2Shawn Honey, Assistant Rector

Shawn and his wife, Kellie, are native West Virginians but have lived a little bit of everywhere—Kosice, Slovakia; Louisville, KY; St. Louis, MO; and Pittsburgh, PA. Shawn studied philosophy at Marshall University and received his M.Div. from Covenant Theological Seminary in St. Louis in 2008. Shawn, Kellie, and their three children moved to D.C. to begin work with Church of the Resurrection in 2015. Email Shawn.


photo (1)

Hrvoje Budimir, Director of Administration

A proud Croatian from the Dalmatian coast, Hrvoje has a plethora of non profit management and ministry experience. He deeply values relationships and a good cup of coffee. Hrvoje studied Philosophy and Religion at Indiana Wesleyan University and he also earned an M.B.A. at Azusa Pacific University. He is married to Jill and has two children Ema and Noah.  Email Hrvoje. 



Elizabeth McClanahan, Director of Children’s Ministry

Originally from South Carolina, Elisabeth moved to DC after ventures in the Tennessee mountains and on the Maryland shore.  She studied Humanities and Bible at Columbia International University and has mentored and taught in communities of at-risk children.  Most recently, she completed a year at the Trinity Fellows Academy studying how stories and metaphors transform people.  She loves to connect with people over hot beverages, well-crafted language, anything outdoors, and adventures great and small. Email Elizabeth.

Tim Hall, Director of Music

Tim grew up in the shadow of the Rocky mountains in his home town of Littleton, CO.  He studied International Relations at Wheaton College, and has worked in international development, nonprofit fundraising, and marketing. One lifelong constant has been music – he has played piano and sung in choirs since he was eight years old.  He has been in DC since September 2011, and has played music with the worship team since the summer of 2012.  Email Tim.

IMG_0885Annie Mahr, Women’s Care Team

Annie and her husband Bill have been members of Rez since 2006, after moving to DC to host a hospitality house in Georgetown for university students. She is the mother of three grown children and a growing number of grandchildren. Annie loves discovering new things with her grandchildren, talking about life at her kitchen table, and working in her rock garden. Email Annie.

Parish Council

The Parish Council is the governing board of a local parish church within the Anglican tradition. In the Church of the Resurrection, the Parish Council is composed of the clergy and seven lay leaders. The lay members are elected during the annual members’ meeting as representatives of the larger membership of the church. The lay members serve rotating three year terms.

The basic responsibilities of the Parish Council are to help define and articulate the mission of the local parish; to support the church’s mission by word and deed; to ensure effective organization, staffing and planning; regularly pray for the congregation, staff and clergy, and to manage the church’s property and finances. In the event of a vacancy in the position of Rector, the Parish Council is responsible for selecting a replacement, together with the oversight of  the Bishop.

The Parish Council is led by the Rector. There are also four officers. The Rector’s Warden, who is selected by the senior pastor, presides in the Rector’s absence and is a support person for the Rector. The People’s Warden, who is elected by the lay members of the Parish Council, serves as the primary liaison between the congregation and the Parish Council. The Treasurer oversees the financial life of the church. The Secretary records the minutes of all meetings. Both the Treasurer and the Secretary are elected by the full Parish Council. Our current lay Parish Council members are:


Richard Roberts   Rector’s Warden



Diana Welkener People’s Warden


Chris Rehm

Chris Rehm Treasurer



Kelley Griffin                 Secretary


Katie Doherty



Casey O’Neil


Christen Price